Recent News

Disaster Relief Fund

An effective response, regardless of where a natural disaster occurs, requires sustained involvement on behalf of donors, responding organizations and a myriad of other actors.  The bulk of disaster dollars are often allocated during the emergency humanitarian relief phase (with a focus on emergency food, shelter, water, sanitation and health care).  Emergency relief is vital.  Still, experts agree that disaster relief dollars are insufficient to meet the medium- and long-term needs of disaster-affected communities. 

 Community Foundation of Western Virginia, Inc. (d/b/a Foundation for Roanoke Valley and Martinsville Area Community Foundation) has established a Disaster Relief Fund in order to respond to  catastrophic events as they occur.

 How will the Disaster Relief Funds be used?

100% of all donations (except any online credit card processing fees) will be used to respond to the complete timeline of the disaster management effort: from immediate relief to recovery, and then to reconstruction and rebuilding.

Who will the funds support?

The Disaster Relief Fund will support nonprofit organizations and public entities that have a defined role in short-term and long-term recovery efforts by providing critical services to individuals, families and communities impacted by the disaster.  Each nonprofit or public entity who receives disaster relief funds will be carefully vetted by the Foundation to insure the most effective and efficient use of the monies raised.

How can I make a donation?

Donations can be made online here. Checks can be mailed to Martinsville Area Community Foundation at P.O. Box 1124, Martinsville, VA  24114. Please designate your gift for “Disaster Relief”.  Donor Advisors may also recommend a grant to the Disaster Relief Fund by submitting a Donor Advised Fund Grant Recommendation Form.  All gifts are tax-deductible.

Women In Philanthropy

Women In Philanthropy(WIP) is an exciting initiative of Martinsville Area Community Foundation that started in October 2009. This initiative recognizes and celebrates the important role that women play in making our community a wonderful place to live. The mission of Women In Philanthropy is to encourage, increase and recognize women's participation in philanthropy and to make significant impact grants in the local community.

Women In Philanthropy is open to any woman who makes the commitment of $500 annually. The contributions are pooled together to make a large-impact grant to a local non-profit organization. MACF will accept Request for Proposals from local non-profits,  compile them into a packet for each member to review, and each member will submit a vote for their favorite organization. The grant will be awarded in September of each year at a special event for Women in Philanthropy.

For more information, please see the Informational Brochure or FAQ's contact April Haynes at 276-656-6223 or

Women In Philanthropy Members Year Ending June 30, 2018
Caren Tobin Aaron
Nancy Baker
Carolyn E. Baptist

Theresa Bechtel 
Clarke S. Beckner
Julie Brown-The Eye Site

Paula Burnette

Ruth Groves Chaney *
Gael Marshall Chaney
Martha M. Clark
Beverley Coleman
Sandra Coleman
Martha S. Cooper
Rebecca Williams Crabtree 
Susan Critz
Judith N. Dashoff
Lucy H. Davis
Nancy B. Davis
Nicole DeShon-Nelson
Mary Kate Dillon

Lillie Doyle 
Imogene Draper 
Margie Eason
Cindy King Edgerton 
Sarah C. Fain
Martha B. Farrell
Ann Favero
Bonnie Favero
Elaine D. Ferrill
Helen H. Flythe
Sandra T. Ford 
Karen L. Franklin
Marsha E. Frith
Paige Frith
Mary Kathryn Frith *
Linda H. Gale
Jane J. Gardner
Judith S. Garland
Karen Webb Garrett
Jo Grayson
Joy Haley
Michelle Hamby 
Sally G. Hanbury
Vicki L. Harm
Vickie S. Helmstutler
Barbara O'Brien Holland
Peggy W. Hollander
Elizabeth M. Holsinger
Lori Hornsby
Linda W. Isley
Barbara Jackman
Cecelia R. Johnson

Joanna Jones 
Mallory Joyce
Carole G. Kiser
Lynn H. Korff
Amy Pace Lampe

Margaret Lester

Susan Lester 
Katherine W. Long
Merlow D. Luttrell
Anne V. Madonia

Randy Mattox
Langhorne S. Mauck
Charlotte W. McClain
Tonie S. McMillan
Phyllis H. Mitchell
Joan B. Montgomery

Linda Moore
Susan S. Muehleck
Christine K. O'Brien
Susan W. Pannill

Nacy Philpott
Betty Barnes Pigg

Beverly Pitzerr
Christine B. Poirier
Linda C. Prillaman

Lauren Prince 

H.Sue Rawls

Ann Reaser

Carol Rebman
Frances Richardson
Lewis S. Riddle
Myrtle Robertson
Lynn Robertson

Martha Rollins
Eliza H. Severt
Elizabeth R. Sibbick
Irma H. Smart
Kathryn A. Smith *
Lucy Newman Smith
Kimberly Kiser Snyder
Marilyn Spencer
Catherine R. Stone
Tracy Tate
Lorrie K. Teegen- American National Bank
Julie Hairfield Thomas
Ellen Thomason
Deborah Toms
Meredith Vaughn
Elizabeth M.Walker
Phyllia Wenkstern
Roslyn H. Wingett
Julia A. Work


*Posthumous Member
Username *
Password *
Keep my computer logged in